Daddy’s Girl

Standard

I think it’s safe to say that every little girl thinks her dad is the bee’s knees and idolizes him beyond belief. And I was that little girl; I loved my daddy so much. And as I grew up, every single day I gained more respect for him and I loved him just a little bit more. To this day, I can honestly say that if given the choice, I’d rather hang out with my dad than any one of my friends. Sorry, y’all, but he’s got my heart.

I am a daddy’s girl, through and through. I look back on the memories of pretending to fall asleep on the couch so that he would carry me to bed in his arms, and I realize I was the luckiest. I remember bike rides in the park, fried peanut butter and jelly sandwiches whenever mom went away for the weekend, and late night talks where he told me I could be anything and everything I wanted to be.

There were country concerts, baseball games, bowling trips, camping, bonfires, homemade pizza nights, and rides in his truck. There were the countless visits to college, the nights he stayed up all night to help me finish a project that I put off, fishing trips, races, car shows, every event forming more and more lasting memories.

And what do all of these memories amount to? Me realizing that I have the BEST father in the world. He’s taught me everything I need to know about love, life, coffee, bowling, cars, how to be a good person — if there is something I value, I can attribute that to my father. From a young age, I wanted to be just like him. And I still do.

He always wanted a son, and I was his last child. I think I always tried to be the little boy he never had. I watched sports with him, drank coffee, promised him I’d drink beer when I turned 21, learned about cars, and loved camping and fishing. I was the son he couldn’t have, and so much of that has shaped the girl I am today. Hey, I have him to thank for that as well, because let me tell you, the boys I have dated have definitely enjoyed those traits my daddy instilled in me.

And I’m rambling, but its hard not to when you just have so many positive things to say about the man who will always be the love of your life. No matter how old I am, I’m always going to need my daddy. And I just hope he knows what he means to me, because he holds my heart, through and through.

 

Leave a Reply

